Five Pirates earn All-Conference USA honors - Greenville, NC | News | Weather | Sports - WNCT.com

Five Pirates earn All-Conference USA honors

Posted: Updated:
HATTIESBURG, Miss. - East Carolina seniors Zach Houchins, Drew Reynolds and Ryan Williams were named First-Team All-Conference USA the league office announced Tuesday afternoon. With their selections, the Pirates (32-24) have had at least one player selected to the first-team for 11-straight years (2004-present).

Houchins earned his second-straight post-season accolade after taking home second-team honors a year ago. As the Pirates’ third baseman, he led the league in hits (81), while ranking among the league leaders in total bases (2nd/105), average (3rd/.352), doubles (t5th/15), on-base percentage (t8th/.400) and slugging (10th/.457). The Wilson, N.C. native belted three home runs with 24 RBI, 26 runs and 27 multi-hit games.

Reynolds takes home his third post-season league honor and second-straight first-team designation as a utility player. The Cherryville, N.C. native, who was named to his third consecutive C-USA All-Academic Team yesterday, is batting a team second-best .324 (71-for-219) with a home run, eight doubles, 20 RBI and 31 runs scored. On the mound he owns a 4-2 record with a 2.22 ERA and five saves. In the 2014 LeClair Classic, Reynolds became the school's all-time saves leader breaking Seth Simmons (2008-11) record of 26 and has currently saved 29 career games.

Williams, who earned first-team relief pitcher honors, owns a 10-3 record with seven saves in 30 appearances – all leading the Pirates pitching staff. The Morgan Hill, Calif., native has struck out 70 batters while walking just nine in 90.0 innings and sports a team-best 1.80 ERA. For his efforts, Williams has been named to the NCBWA Stopper-of-the-Year, College Baseball Hall of Fame Pitcher-of-the-Year and Gregg Olson Award Watch Lists.

For the third-straight year ECU has landed multiple players on the All-Freshman Team with the selections of Bryce Harman and Charlie Yorgen. Harman has started 46 of 50 games played during his rookie season batting .248 with two doubles, 19 RBI and 22 runs scored. The Chesterfield, Va. native belted six home runs on the year leading the Pirates and ranking fifth in C-USA action.

Yorgen, who moved into a starting role on March 12 against Wake Forest, is batting .290 in 40 starts with four doubles, one triple, 15 RBI and 23 runs scored. The Richmond, Va. native has drawn 16 walks, while striking out 13 times and has swiped four bases to rank third on the squad.

The Pirates will kickoff the C-USA Championships on Wednesday, May 21 when they square off against host and No. 3 seed Southern Miss at 8:30 p.m. (ET) inside Pete Taylor Park.


Aramis Garcia, Jr., C, FIU

Chase Mallard, Sr., RHP, UAB

Chris Mourelle, Fr., RHP, FIU

John Clay Reeves, Jr., C, Rice

Brian Shoop, UAB


Josh Hopper, UAB


IF – Skyler Ewing, Jr., Rice

IF – Shane Hoelscher, Sr., Rice

IF – Zach Houchins, Sr., East Carolina

IF – Trent Miller, Sr., Middle Tennessee

OF – Jared Allen, Jr., Middle Tennessee

OF – Michael Aquino, Sr., Rice

OF – Nick Walker, Fr., Old Dominion

C – Aramis Garcia, Jr., FIU

DH/UT – Drew Reynolds, Sr., East Carolina

SP – Zac Curtis, Sr., Middle Tennessee

SP – Mike Franco, Sr., FIU

SP – Blake Fox, So., Rice

SP – Chase Mallard, Sr., UAB

RP – Ryan Williams, Sr., East Carolina


IF – Josiah Burney, Sr., Old Dominion

IF – Stephen Kerr, Fr., Florida Atlantic

IF – RJ Perucki, Sr., UTSA

IF – Mike Warren, Sr., UTSA

OF – Chase Davis, Jr., UAB

OF – Brendon Sanger, So., Florida Atlantic

OF – John Welborn, Sr., UTSA

C – John Clay Reeves, Jr., Rice

DH/UT – Matt Durst, Jr., Southern Miss

SP – Conor Fisk, Sr., Southern Miss

SP – Alex Luna, Jr., UAB

SP – Brock Hartson, So., UTSA

SP – Chris Mourelle, Fr., FIU

RP – Bradley Roney, Jr., Southern Miss


1B – Bryce Harman, East Carolina

2B – Stephen Kerr, Florida Atlantic

2B – T.J. Nichting, Charlotte

2B –  CJ Pickering, UTSA

2B – Charlie Yorgen, East Carolina

3B – Hunter Hope, Tulane

OF – Corey Bird, Marshall

OF – Dylan Burdeaux, Southern Miss

OF – Nick Walker, Old Dominion

RHP – Chris Mourelle, FIU

RHP – Jon Duplantier, Rice

LHP – Thomas Lowery, UAB

Powered by WorldNow

3221 South Evans Street
Greenville N.C. 27834

Telephone: 252.355.8500
Fax: 252.355.8568
Email: newsdesk@wnct.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.