Hertford County bus driver named top in the state - Greenville, NC | News | Weather | Sports - WNCT.com

Hertford County bus driver named top in the state

Posted: Updated:
RALEIGH, N.C. - Several school bus drivers from the east demonstrated their skills Thursday in the annual State School Bus ROADeo at the N.C. State Fairgrounds in Raleigh.

A total of 43 school bus drivers participated in the final testing and driving competition to name the top school bus driver in North Carolina.  Drivers from several Eastern NC counties competed and Eric Turner of Hertford County took the top prize.

The other top nine drivers in order of finish from 2nd to 10th place were:
•Mitch Banner (Avery County Schools)
•Billy McKemey (Wake County Schools)
•William Chapman (Cumberland County Schools)
•Chris Owens (Clinton City Schools)
•Bryson Nesbitt (Kannapolis City Schools)
•Beverly Williams (Union County Schools)
•James Pennington (Ashe County Schools)
•Connie Hope (Sampson County Schools)
•Reginald Jones (Craven County Schools)

Turner received a $500 cash prize and a trip to represent the state in the national school bus driving competition to be held this summer in Charleston, SC. The 2nd through 5th place finishers received $400, $300, $200 and $100, respectively. Sixth through 10th place finishers won $50.

Each of the 43 contestants advanced to the state finals by placing in the top 10 of a regional competition.  Most regional participants also advanced through a local ROADeo sponsored by their local school system.

More than 800,000 students ride one of North Carolina’s 13,400 school buses each day.

The North Carolina Pupil Transportation Association, the Division of Motor Vehicles, the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction's Transportation Services Section and Wake County Public School System's Transportation Department sponsor the annual State School Bus ROADeo.
Powered by WorldNow

3221 South Evans Street
Greenville N.C. 27834

Telephone: 252.355.8500
Fax: 252.355.8568
Email: newsdesk@wnct.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.