Non-resident property owners will be prohibited from entering Dare County


(Photo: courtesy MGN)

(WNCT) A State of Emergency has been issued to allow Dare County and individual towns to implement restrictions necessary to help combat the spread of COVID-19.

The State of Emergency restricts mass gatherings of 50 people or more, guidance that was established by the Centers for Disease Control on March 15.

A mass gathering does not include normal operations at airports, bus and train stations, medical facilities, libraries, shopping malls, and centers, or other spaces where more than 50 persons are gathered

It also does not include office environments, restaurants, factories, grocery stores or other retail establishments.

The Dare County Control Group will continue to meet and provide updates to the local community on a daily basis.

The Dare County Control Group has established a Joint Information Center to coordinate important communications from towns and agencies.

Updated information and a list of the most frequently asked questions received by local officials is now available at

A local hotline has been established to answer questions the public may have regarding COVID-19.

Assistance and guidance can be provided on information regarding testing, travel restrictions, symptoms, and preparation efforts.

To reach the hotline call 252.475.5008.

The phone line will be staffed daily from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and may be extended depending on call volume. 

While the Governor’s order mandated school closures and prohibited mass gatherings, it did not implement any travel restrictions.

To minimize the health impacts of COVID-19 in Dare County, the County is implementing a variety of emergency strategies to increase social distancing and slow the spread of this disease.

The following Dare County facilities will be closed until further notice:

  • The Dare County Center
  • Thomas A. Baum Senior Center
  • The Fessenden Center, and all Parks and Recreation facilities

Congregate and homebound delivered meal programs for older adults will continue by offering a drive-by meal pick up.

Contact the Dare County Center or the Baum Center for more information.

All Dare County Library locations will close as well.

All advisory board meetings that do not have remote capability have been canceled.

A complete list of cancellations and closures can be found at

Dare County offices will remain open.

However, in the interest of the safety of our visitors and staff, face to face contact will be limited.

Before visiting Dare County offices, check the website or call to verify if services can be received online or over the phone. 

The Dare County Sheriff’s Office requests the use of their online services for requesting purchase permits and new or renewing a concealed handgun permit.

Fingerprinting applicants will be done by appointment only. Call 252.475.5980 to schedule an appointment.

Staff is in close and regular contact with the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, North Carolina Emergency Management and the CDC.

Non-resident property owners will be prohibited from entering Dare County beginning Friday at 10 p.m. 

The intent of this declaration is to decrease the risk of exposure and limit the spread of COVID-19 in Dare County by eliminating non-essential travel, thereby reducing the number of individuals in the county and ultimately reducing potential virus spread and the burden on our healthcare system.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories