Burn ban still in effect for 18 ENC counties due to hazardous forest fire conditions


A burn ban issued on all open burning for 18 counties in Eastern North Carolina is still in effect, officials said.

According to Carteret County Emergency Services, the recent weekend rain was not sufficient to cancel the ban.


Due to increased fire risk, N.C. Forest Service has issued a ban on all open burning and canceled all burning permits for 18 counties in Eastern North Carolina.

The counties include Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Tyrrell, and Washington.

The burning ban goes into effect on Thursday at 5 p.m. and will remain in effect until further notice.

The N.C. Forest Service will continue to monitor conditions.

“The dry weather conditions these last few weeks, plus the potential for an increase in human-caused wildfires in the region, makes this ban on open burning necessary,” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler. “During the month of May, there have been 355 wildfires statewide, covering 1,348 acres. This burn ban is a proactive step to protect lives and property by preventing human-caused wildfires.”

Local fire departments and law enforcement officers are assisting N.C. Forest Service in enforcing the burn ban.


The Hyde County Emergency Management has issued a burn ban effective Thursday at 5 p.m.

Officials said the burn ban will stay in effect until further notice.

It includes any prior issued burning permits, officials said.


Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories