Eight high school students from Eastern North Carolina are among 20 selected to receive 4-year, full academic scholarships to East Carolina University through the EC Scholars Program.


The recipients are Dymon Blango, Oswaldo Javier Rangel Corona, Neha Makanangot and Abigail Ulffers, all from Pitt County; Cole Dickerson from Gatesville; Caleb Myers from New Bern; Amy Turner from Tyner; and Alexia Woodward from Elizabeth City. 


Blango is a recent graduate of the Pitt County Schools’ Early College High School, where she earned associate degrees in science and biotechnology from Pitt Community College. She plans to major in biology at ECU. Her parents are Escalera Blango and Bianca Murchison-Lopez of Greenville. 

Rangel Corona is a recent graduate of Beaufort County Early College High School, where he earned associate degrees in science and arts from Beaufort County Community College. He intends to major in business at ECU. He is the son of Elizabeth and Javier Rangel of Grimesland.   


Makanangot is a senior at J.H. Rose High School. She intends to major in biology at ECU. She is the daughter of Nuhman Makanangot and Nazra Nuhman of Greenville. 


Ulffers, a senior at D.H. Conley High School, plans to pursue a multidisciplinary studies program in neuroscience and public health studies. She is an alternate for the early assurance program in the Brody School of Medicine. She is the daughter of Chris Ulffers and Beth Norvell Ulffers of Greenville.

Dickerson is a senior at Gates County High School. He intends to major in public health studies and pursue an MBA. Dickerson is the son of Dr. Daniel and Laura Dickerson of Gatesville.

Myers, a senior at The Epiphany School of Global Studies, is the son of Curt and Jenny Myers of New Bern. He intends to major in management. 

Turner is a senior at John A. Holmes High School in Edenton, with dual enrollment in the College of the Albemarle. She intends to major in biology at ECU. She is the daughter of Chris and Laura Turner of Tyner. 

Woodward, a senior at the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in Durham, is the daughter of Yasuko and Zacharias Woodward of Elizabeth City. She intends to major in nursing at ECU. 

EC Scholars is the university’s most prestigious and competitive undergraduate academic scholarship program. The merit scholarship recognizes outstanding academic performance, commitment to community engagement and strong leadership skills. Recipients are admitted to ECU’s Honors College and receive a scholarship for four years, along with a stipend for study abroad, for a total value of nearly $63,000.


Students have completed a rigorous three-tier selection process that includes meeting Honors College admissions criteria and participating in a faculty review and interview process during Selection Sunday, which occurs each spring on ECU’s campus. This year’s incoming class has an average combined math/verbal SAT score of 1408, average ACT score of 31.5 and an average unweighted GPA of 3.95.


The 20 EC Scholars were selected from about 600 applicants.