Pitt County Schools awards Teacher of the Year and other top employees

2019 PCS Teacher of The Year_1553719446479.jpg.jpg

Pitt County Schools gave awards to its top teachers and district employees at its 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year Award Ceremony on Wednesday at the Rock Springs Center.

Ms. Ann Mehdi, a science teacher at South Central High School, was named the PCS Teacher of the Year for 2019-2020.

Julie Berry, an English teacher at JH Rose High School, was named PCS Teacher of the Year runner-up.

Mehdi won multiple prizes, including a free car for a year, from Pecheles Automotive.

This year’s event theme, A World of Difference, highlighted the tremendous difference PCS educators and employees make every day in the lives of students.

JH Rose High School and EB Aycock Middle School Honors Combined Chorale group performed selections including, “I Dreamed a World.”

City leaders, business owners, Teacher of the Year nominees, Classified Employee of the Year winners, and former Teacher of the Year winners were in attendance, while a video also featured inspirational messages from former PCS graduates now living around the world.

2019-2020 Pitt County Schools Teacher of the Year finalists included Heather Landreth of W.H. Robinson Elementary, Skylar Pugh of Grifton School, Kristin Smith of Belvoir Elementary, and Diana Vargas of Ayden Middle.

Classified Employees of the Year were also recognized at the event. They include:

Custodian of the Year: Sheldon Taylor of JH Rose High School

Office Employee of the Year: Shelia Massie of South Central High School

Teacher Assistant of the Year: Virginia Woods of South Greenville Elementary

Child Nutrition Employee of the Year: Carolyn Alexander of South Greenville Elementary

Child Nutrition Manager of the Year: Connie Whitehurst of Pactolus School

Transportation Employee of the Year: Rodney Corey of the Transportation Department

Bus Driver of the Year: Stacy Phillips of Elmhurst Elementary

K-8 Bus Driver of the Year: Gwendolyn Yarrell of Falkland Elementary

9-12 Bus Driver of the Year: Eric Williams of Wintergreen Primary School

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories