State of Emergency issued for Washington County


(WNCT) A State of Emergency has been issued for Washington County effective Wednesday at 10 a.m.

This action was taken to coordinate response and protection action to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

The State of Emergency is attached and includes all areas within Washington County, including the municipalities of Plymouth, Roper, and Creswell.

The primary reason for this State of Emergency Declaration is to allow access to state and federal resources to promote the health and safety of Washington County citizens and visitors.

This declaration is a necessary measure taken for preparedness and prevention in Washington County.

No further restrictions or prohibitions are imposed at this time, other than those instituted by Executive Orders of the Governor of North Carolina.

However, all citizens of Washington County and visitors of the same are highly encouraged to adhere to laws of the State of North Carolina and ordinances within the County, as well as to respect the duties of Public Safety and Public Health Personnel throughout the County.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories