Storm causes N.C. transportation officials to suspend six ferry routes


RALEIGH, N.C. (WAVY) — According to N.C. Department of Transportation, the decision has been made to suspend six ferry routes.

At 8 a.m. on Saturday, officials cited heavy wind and rain as the reason for the route suspensions.

Those suspended ferry routes include to and from Ocracoke Island, and the Currituck-Knotts Island, Southport-Fort Fisher and Cherry Branch-Minnesott Beach ferries.

The Aurora-Bayview ferry is continuing to run on its normal schedule.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories