Dr. Greg Murphy sworn-in as 3rd District Congressman in Washington D.C.


GREENVILLE, N.C. (WNCT) – Dr. Greg Murphy, who won election to the NC 3rd Congressional District was sworn-in during a public ceremony on Tuesday evening in Washington, D.C.

“Well, I want to say Thank You I’m humbled for all their support I look forward to serving all the members of the ah district those who voted for me and those who did not because I aim their representative and regardless of political affiliation I am to serve them the best as possible,” said Congressman Dr. Greg Murphy.

The district has been without representation in D.C. since February after the death of Congressman Walter B. Jones Jr. who held that seat for more than 20 years.


Republican Dr. Greg Murphy has won North Carolina 3rd Congressional District race with 61.74% of the votes, according to North Carolina State Board of Elections unofficial local election results.

The District 3 Congressional seat has been vacant since the February passing of Congressman Walter B. Jones Jr.

“I think that it is important that you represent every person in the district,” said Dr. Greg Murphy (R). “It is crossing the aisle, it is going and meeting everybody, republican or democrat, African American, Hispanic. I don’t go to represent just the people who voted for me, I go to represent everybody in our district.”

Allen Thomas (D) had 37.47% of the votes, Greg Holt (C) 0.44% and Tim Harris (L) 0.35%.

“I don’t think there’s anything else we could have done we worked hard on this campaign, at the end of the day I’m gonna be able to say I’ve run a positive campaign about the fundamentals of what’s going to move eastern North Carolina forward,” said Allen Thomas.


GREENVILLE, NC (WNCT) – The District 3 Congressional seat has been vacant since the February passing of Congressman Walter B. Jones Jr.

Today people living in the district are deciding who will fill his seat and serve as their voice in Washington.

The candidates are Dr. Greg Murphy (R), Allen Thomas (D), Tim Harris (Libertarian), and Greg Holt (Constitution).

Polls open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories