Four Elected To The ECU Athletics Hall Of Fame

ecu hof_250523

GREENVILLE, N.C. (ECU Media Relations) – Former East Carolina University student-athletes Tommy Eason, Luke Fisher, Diane Parker and Jenny Parsons have been elected to the school’s Athletics Hall of Fame announced the 12-member committee on Friday, July 29. The inductees will be formally enshrined at the 39th annual installment ceremony inside Williams Arena at Minges Coliseum on Friday, Sept. 9.

The inductees, along with the 1992 Peach Bowl champions, will also be recognized publically at Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium as a part of the halftime festivities during the Sept. 10 football game against NC State. Kick-off is slated for 12 noon (ET).

The four new inductees will bring the total membership in the ECU Athletics Hall of Fame to 158. The original ECU Athletics Hall of Fame was initiated in 1974 as an organization to honor those individuals who have, by direct participation in East Carolina University intercollegiate athletics, brought outstanding recognition to themselves and the University.

Eason (1989-91) was a two-time First-Team All-Colonial Athletic Association selection and led the Pirates to three-straight conference titles and NCAA regional appearances as a player. He and completed his career ranked second all-time in home runs (39), third in total bases (354) and fourth in RBI (155) with a .335 career batting average. After being taken by the Philadelphia Phillies in the sixth round of the 1991 Major League Baseball Draft, Eason spent four seasons in the minor leagues before returning to ECU to complete his bachelor’s degree. A member of coach Keith LeClair’s first staff as a graduate assistant in 1998, he was elevated to pitching coach in 1999 and served in that capacity for seven seasons. During his tenure, ECU made six consecutive NCAA regional appearances and advanced to a pair of super regionals. Five pitchers earned All-America honors and his pitching staffs finished among the NCAA leaders in ERA three times.

Fisher (1988-91) set six school records as a senior and was on the receiving end of the game-winning touchdown in the 1992 Peach Bowl. As a senior he earned honorable mention All-America accolades from Football News and All-South Independent honors from the Associated Press after posting career-bests for receptions (48) and yards receiving (686). He was the first Pirate to collect more than 100 career receptions, finishing with 102 catches, and completed his eligibility ranked second all-time with 1,462 yards receiving. Fisher, who came to ECU as a quarterback and played linebacker before moving to tight end for the 1989 season, saved his best performance for his last game – nabbing 12 passes for 144 yards, both career highs, against NC State on Jan. 1, 1992 in Atlanta. He was selected by Minnesota in the eighth round of the 1991 NFL Draft.

A two-sport, four-year letterwinner, Parsons (1989-93) excelled in the circle for the ECU softball team and graduated as the program’s all-time leader in nine pitching categories, including ERA (1.52), innings pitched (969.1), shut outs (34) and wins (102). As a junior in 1992, she led all NCAA Division I pitchers with 38 victories before finishing third a year later with 32 triumphs. She was the first ECU pitcher to collect 100 career victories, toss 100 complete games, strike out 400 batters and pitch more than 400 innings. Despite the Pirates’ independent status, Parsons earned all-region and all-star recognition during her final two seasons. Parsons later spent eight seasons as an assistant coach and helped ECU capture its first conference title and earn its first NCAA Tournament bid. As a volleyball player, she was the first player to register 2,000 career assists, leading the team in that category in 1990 and ’92.

Twice named Conference USA Swimmer-of-the-Year and named to the league’s All-Decade Team, Parker (2001-05) was a four-year letterwinner for head coach Rick Kobe. She received the league’s top individual swimming honor as a sophomore and junior after being named C-USA Freshman-of-the-Year in 2002. As a sophomore in 2003, Parker led the Pirates to the C-USA Women’s Swimming and Diving title and earned her first of three consecutive C-USA Swimmer-of-the-Meet awards. One of only three ECU women’s swimmers to compete in multiple NCAA Division I Championships, she won eight individual C-USA titles and was a part of two championship relay teams. She graduated as the owner of the 100 breaststroke and 200 IM varsity records and among the program’s all-time top-10 in five additional events. Parker is the fourth female swimmer to be elected to the ECU Athletics Hall of Fame.

An interactive video listing and capsules of the entire Hall of Fame membership is located inside the lobby of the Smith-Williams Center, which opened in 2013. Photos of all Hall of Fame members are now on permanent display and the 2016 shrine class will be added to the display for Hall of Fame weekend, Sept 9-10.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories