Local News

Evacuation ordered for parts of Duplin County starting Saturday

KENANSVILLE, N.C. (WNCT) - A mandatory evacuation, effective noon Saturday, has been issued for a number of unincorporated areas in Duplin County.

The areas included in the evacuation order are areas south of NC 24, between Interstate 40 and NC 41 & 111 at Chinquapin and all flood-prone areas.

According to a news release from the county, that includes, but is not limited to: BF Grady, Chinquapin, Hallsville, Harrells, Kornegay, Mill Swamp, Northeast, Pin Hook, River Landing, Rockfish, Safe, and Sarecta.

The evacuation order was sent out by order of the Duplin County manager, the emergency management coordinator and Sheriff Blake Wallace. 

Duplin County officials said emergency response in areas under a mandatory evacuation will be limited. 

More Stories

Meet the Team

Latest News - Local

Video Center