Firework laws in the Carolinas: What’s legal depending on where you live

North Carolina

What you need to know about fireworks laws in NC and SC

(FOX 46 CHARLOTTE) – Before deciding whether to set off your own Fourth of July fireworks, or leave it to the professionals, FOX 46 Charlotte thought we should give you the break down of the laws surrounding fireworks in North and South Carolina.

North Carolina

In North Carolina, you can’t possess or discharge anything that explodes or catapults unless you have a license or permit. Period.

South Carolina

In South Carolina, there are no regulations on fireworks and by Carowinds Amusement Park, a strip of fireworks stores are open 24 hours. Yes, 24 hours a day.

Fines

Technically, it is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine and court costs but no jail time attached.

The usual practice from speaking to law enforcement sources is that warnings are the usual practice. Multiple warnings can lead to fines but rarely arrests.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories

news-app-download-apple-350x50news-app-download-android-350x50