Officials update mainland Hyde County entry information


SWAN QUARTER, N.C. (WNCT) Starting on Thursday, all non-resident property owners wishing to enter mainland Hyde County will need to be issued a temporary entry pass to enter the county.

Non-resident property owners and their immediate family only will be issued entry passes.

Every person in the vehicle will need to be verified and listed on the permit or access will be denied.

The Hyde County Sheriff’s Office will have access to the list of permits issued at all times.  

Once you have submitted your application, it will be reviewed by staff for verification.

If officials need additional information, someone will contact you.

Allow one business day for officials to process your application.

Once the application has been approved, you will receive an email with your pass.

It should be printed and put on your dashboard when you travel to Hyde County.

If you can not print it, showing the pass on your phone is acceptable.

If the application is not approved, officials will send an email explaining why.  

If you work in or are a resident of Hyde County you do not need a pass.

You should carry proof of such at all times when traveling in and out of the county.

An NC Drivers License is the preferred way to prove residency.

Vendors and delivery services also do not need a pass but should be able to produce evidence that they represent that company. 

Residents of Beaufort, Dare, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties shall be granted entry to Hyde County only for activities permitted by the Governor’s order and also do not need a pass.

However, proof of residency is required.  

To submit your application for entry, go to and navigate to the Mainland COVID-19 Entry page.

Ocracoke entry will be restricted to the following priorities:


  • Hyde County/State Requested Resources
  • Hyde County Emergency Personnel Medical/Clinic
  • National Park Service
  • Hyde County Employees
  • Hyde County School System Employees/Staff
  • Code Enforcement Officers/Inspectors
  • Department of Transportation
  • Power Company
  • Hyde County Debris Removal Contractors or Subcontractors
  • Hyde County Debris Monitoring Contractor
  • Sanitation/Garbage
  • Disposal
  • Mail and Parcel Delivery


  • Insurance
  • Adjusters
  • Contractors
  • Distributors/Suppliers/Vendors
  • Volunteers


  • Ocracoke Residents
  • Ocracoke Business Owners and Employees
  • Ocracoke Temporary Entry Certificate Holders

All contractors, insurance adjusters, and state missions will be validated by Hyde County and a temporary pass will be issued.

A list of passes issued will be provided to NCDOT Ferry Division on a continual basis.   

Individuals seeking entry must have the appropriate Hyde County issued re-entry tag or a valid North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Ferry Division issued priority pass. 

Expired Hyde County re-entry tags will be honored as an acceptable means of establishing priority for this event.

The Hyde County re-entry tag colors now allowed access are as follows:

  • Emergency Personnel (Red)
  • Infrastructure (Yellow)
  • Resident (Green)  

If a commuter fails to produce the aforementioned credentials, they will be required to show evidence of residency in Hyde County or hold a temporary re-entry pass issued by Hyde County.

The Ocracoke Island re-entry pass system is active and can be accessed at

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

LKQD Outstream

Trending Stories