Pirates draw No. 11 seed at AAC Tournament

ECU Pirates
Shawn Williams UCONN_568359

ECU will be the No. 11 seed and face No. 6 seed Wichita State Thursday, March 14, in the First Round of the 2019 Air Force Reserve American Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball Championship at the FedExForum in Memphis, Tenn.

ECU lost both its games against the Shockers this season, falling 65-49 at home and 72-55 on the road. Isaac Fleming was the only Pirate to score double figures in each game, averaging 14.5 points per contest.

The schedule for Thursday’s first round games begins with No. 8 USF opening against No. 9 UConn at 1 p.m. EDT, followed by No. 5 Memphis vs. No. 12 Tulane at 3 p.m. No. 7 Tulsa will take on No. 10 SMU to open the night session at 8 p.m. with the Pirates and Shockers locking up in the nightcap at approximately 10 p.m.

All first round games will be televised on ESPNU. Radio coverage will be provided for ECU games in the tournament on the Pirate Learfield IMG College radio network (WNCT 107.9 FM in Greenville) and online via TuneIn. The national broadcast of the game can be heard on satellite radio. SiriusXM will feature the games on channel 134/XM channel 202. It will also be available on the SiriusXM app on channel 965.

The Pirates are making their fifth appearance at The American Basketball Championship and own a record of 2-4. They advanced to the quarterfinals with first round wins in 2015 and ’17.

The winner of the ECU-Wichita State game will advance to face No. 3 Temple at 9 p.m. Friday, preceded by No. 2 Cincinnati against the Tulsa-SMU winner. The USF-UConn winner advances to face No. 1 Houston at 12 p.m. Friday, followed by Memphis-Tulane winner versus No. 4 UCF.

The tournament will culminate with a pair of semifinal games on Saturday afternoon, beginning at 3 p.m. and the championship game on Sunday. The championship game is set for a 3:15 p.m. start on ESPN, which will air start-to-finish coverage of the event on its family of networks.

2019 AMERICAN ATHLETIC CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIP – FEDEXFORUM – MEMPHIS, TENN.

Thursday, March 14 – First Round

No. 9 UConn vs. No. 8 USF, 1 p.m. ET/noon CT (ESPNU)

No. 12 Tulane vs. No. 5 Memphis, 3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

No. 10 SMU vs. No. 7 Tulsa, 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

No. 11 ECU vs. No. 6 Wichita State, 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Friday, March 15 – Quarterfinals

8/9 winner vs. No. 1 Houston, noon ET/11 a.m. CT (ESPN2)

5/12 winner vs. No. 4 UCF, 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT (ESPN2)

7/10 winner vs. No. 2 Cincinnati, 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

6/11 winner vs. No. 3 Temple, 9 p.m./8 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Saturday, March 16 – Semifinals

Quarterfinal winners, 3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT (ESPN2)

Quarterfinal winners, 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT (ESPN2)

Sunday, March 17 – Final

Semifinal winners, 3:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. CT (ESPN)

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

news-app-download-apple-350x50news-app-download-android-350x50